Dominica Passport | Caribbean Recipes | Dominica Photos | Classified Ads | Search Jobs | Advertise here!

Experience Dominica – The Nature Island: Dominica Vacations | Exotic Vacations | Honeymoon Destination

Dominica weekly is a personal weblog about the nature island of Dominica.


It’s that time of year again – Dominica Carnival 2008- More Fete – Less Twaka! With a schedule fill with upcoming carnival events, It is hard to miss the fervor of the people’s loyalty to their favorite events (i.e. Soca Monarch Competition and International Artist Night, Lagoon Street Jam, Calypso Finals, Miss. Dominica Pageant, National Carnival Costume Street Parade and Carnival Tuesday street jump-up), there is no doubt that this Reunion Year it’s going to be bigger than ever. It’s going to be the most festive time of the year where there are no enemies but More Fete, where everyone comes together to have fun. So let loose, make new friends and enjoy! These parades are held in Roseau, but many other villages have small parades. Photo credit:* DiscoverDominica.dm*

upcoming Dominica Carnival events.jpg

Date Events Venue
Thu, Jan 03 Official Media Launch Fort Young Hotel
Sat, Jan 05 Calypso Quarterfinals Harlem Plaza
Thu, Jan 10 bMobile Carnival Warm Up TBA
Sat, Jan 12 National Parade and Official Opening of City with Lapo Kabwitt Competition , Triple K Band and WCK Streets of Roseau
Mon, Jan 14 Open Mic Night Carnival City
Tue, Jan 15 Open Mic Night Carnival City
Wed, Jan 16 Open Mic Night Carnival City
Thu, Jan 17 bMobile Carnival Warm Up TBA
Thu, Jan 17 Junior Monarch Carnival City
Fri, Jan 18 Showdown Mas Camp Carnival City
Sat, Jan 19 Calypso Semifinals
Sun, Jan 20 Princess Show
Sun, Jan 20 Wet Fete
Wed, Jan 23 StarDom Tent
Thu, Jan 24 bMobile Carnival Warm Up
Fri, Jan 25 Showdown MasCamp
Sat, Jan 26 Soca Monarch Competition and International Artist Night Carnival City
Sun, Jan 27 Teenage Pageant Carnival City
Mon, Jan 28 Lagoon Street Jam
Tue, Jan 29 Lapo Kabwit/Sensay Festival
Tue, Jan 29 Pan by the Bay
Wed, Jan 30 StarDom King of the Tent
Thu, Jan 31 Champ of the Camp
Fri, Feb 01 Miss. Dominica Pageant Carnival City
Fri, Feb 01 Official Masqueraders After Party Harlem Plaza
Sat, Feb 02 bMobile Grand Calypso Finals Carnival City
Sat, Feb 02 Carnival Beer Garden
Sun, Feb 03 bMobile Bouyon Festival/ King and Queen of the Band Competition Carnival City
Sun, Feb 03 Kiddies Old Mas
Mon, Feb 04 National Carnival Costume Street Parade
Tue, Feb 05 Carnival Tuesday
Wed, Feb 06 Vaval
Fri, Feb 08 Cabinet Forum – Diaspora Meeting
Fri, Mar 07 Prize Giving Ceremony

Share this Dominica article with your friends:

Facebook Twitter Google Buzz Google Bookmarks Digg Reddit delicious Technorati Slashdot Yahoo My Web

Tagged with: , , ,
If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to our RSS feed!

RSS feed | Trackback URI

2 Comments »

Comment by beverley george Subscribed to comments via email
2008-01-10 19:13:48

This is a question, can you please advise as to when it will be the best time to visit Dominica this year 2008 for the 30 year ex-pat celebrations. my husband is Dominican born and myself and my family have never visited the island, we are looking forward to visiting this year, but cannot decide which month to visit. can you please help.

many thanks

Mrs B A George

Comment by Chris
2008-01-10 20:41:34

Wow!…thats a tough one, because the whole year is filled with lots of different activities… I believe you said that you and your family have never been to Dominica, that means you guys have never been to the World Creole Music Festival. The Majority of people who I’ve spoken to are coming For the WCMF – which is schedule for the last weekend in October 2008. In my opinion this will be the best time to visit Dominica during the Reunion year. The only thing you need to get you Airline Tickets now… if there is any remaining. 🙂

 
 
Name (required)
E-mail (required - never shown publicly)
URI
Your Comment (smaller size | larger size)
You may use <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong> in your comment.

Trackback responses to this post




Business Key Top Sites